Getting started with horse racing...

cooziecoozie Junior Member
edited May 2011 in Horse Racing Forum
Hey everyone, hope your Memorial Day was great. Sorry if this post has been done before or is just incredibly dumb, but I'm a bit of a newbie to horse racing.

I live in NJ, and it all started when a pal of mine suggested we go the the Meadowlands track on a boring Friday. I thought it was awesome. Since then I've gotten more and more interested. For the first two Triple Crown legs, I made the 15 minute drive each way to the Meadowlands just to place a bet. Now, I am so interested that I plan on going to the Belmont with my girlfriend, who loves horses. I just have a few questions and I would be so appreciative if someone can help out.

Has anyone ever been to the Belmont? I don't have a ticket, I plan on buying ones there. Any advice on the day? I know I get there early. etc

I kind of just blindly bet on my first visit to the Meadowlands. I tended to take horses who weren't favorites or longshots, but more to the tune of 10-1 to 20-1. I didn't win once that night. I bet $2 a race, and I stayed for 10. I had Master of the Hounds winning the Derby, and Mucho Macho Man winning the Preakness, along with a few exactas. Didn't win there obviously, either. Maybe I am doing something wrong. How does anyone know about those horses at the Meadowlands? I understand the more famous ones at the Triple Crown, but I don't get what to do there. Also, how exactly should I be deciding about the Triple Crown races? Now I just read previews online and in the newspaper, but sometimes those aren't that helpful. I never really feel too certain of my pick, although obviously I know nothings exactly certain ever.

Are there any betting strategies I should avoid, or try out?